MCQs on Anglo Mysore Wars

British control in South India was established with the end of the four Anglo-Mysore Wars. Many questions on the Anglo-Mysore Wars are posed in many competitive examinations that are held each year. As a result, we have compiled the top ten most often asked questions on the Anglo-Mysore Wars.

1. What was the chronology of the second Anglo-Mysore war?

- A. 1780 1784 AD
- B. 1767 1769 AD
- C. 1782 1785 AD
- D. 1761 1765 AD

2. What was the chronology of the fourth Anglo-Mysore war?

- A. 1786 1788 AD
- B. 1790 1792 AD
- C. 1798 1799 AD
- D. 1798 1800 AD

3. When did Hyder Ali sit on the throne of Mysore?

- A.1764 AD
- B. 1761 AD
- C. 1763 AD
- D. 1756 AD

4. Who was the British Governor-General during Third Anglo-Mysore War?

- A. Lord Cornwallis
- B. Lord Dalhousie
- C. Lord Wellesley
- D. Lord Warren Hastings

5. Where is the Tomb of Tipu Sultan located?

- A. Coimbatore
- B. Dharapuram
- C. Wayanad
- D. Srirangapatna

6.	Which of the following Anglo - Mysore wars came to an end by the Treaty of
	Seringapatam?
	A. First
	B. Second
	C. Third
	D. Fourth

7. Who was the British Governor-General during the Fourth Anglo-Mysore War?

- A. Sir John Shore
- B. Lord Wellesley
- C. Sir John Macpherson
- D. Lord Warren Hastings

8. Who was the British Governor-General during the first Anglo-Mysore war?

- A. Lord Ripon
- B. Lord Verelst
- C. Lord Lytton
- D. Lord Wellesley

9. Who was the British Governor-General during the Second Anglo-Mysore War?

- A. Lord Ripon
- B. Lord William Bentinck
- C. Lord Warren Hastings
- D. Lord Wellesley

10. Tipu Sultan died during which Anglo-Mysore war?

- A. First
- B. Second
- C. Was exiled to Kolkota
- D. Fourth

Answers

- 1. A
- 2. C
- 3. B
- 4. A
- 5. D
- 6. C
- 7. B

8. B 9. C 10. D